Nephrostomies

So last week I got a drain put into my right kidney, the left one got done the previous week. The purpose of these is to ease the pressure put on to my uritors by the growing disease and it seems to have worked a treat. The only problem is I’m left with two big bags trailing from my back, I’ll be uploading a pic with this post so you guys can see ☺️

BUT i got a great phone call on Thursday telling me to come to ward 32 on Friday and they were going to cap the bags off for me. Yaaaay, meaning all being well over the weekend with them capped off I’ll be able to get the bags reversed and have nothing trailing behind me!! Absolutely over the moon with this!

However since the capping, I’ve been pretty uncomfortable and having to take quite a lot of oramorph (oral morphine) I’m not sure if it’s the capping causing the discomfort or because these sites are brand new huge holes in my body. Obviously I’m going to persist with the capping hoping for the best but if worst comes to it and I need to deal with these extra bags then I’ll just have to lump it won’t I. I’ll probably be super self conscious about it and to be honest they’ll not be easy to hide, but why should I even worry about it? Cos I’m a girl and that’s what we do 😂🙈 I’ll be covered in bum bags and sarongs all summer but least I’ll be here to enjoy the summer ❤️☀️xxx

12 thoughts on “Nephrostomies

  1. I hope the pain subsides babe 😘 maybe it’s too early to cap them? Like you say you have holes you never had before which are new! Xxx love you ♥️ xxX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Tracey, glad to hear about about your nephrostomies getting capped, I work in urology where we deal with patients with nephrostomies quite a lot of the time so if you ever need any advice just let me know, your loins will be tender with the tubes in your back, position and movement etc, I’m glad you got some good news.

    Love Vikki Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If anyone can pull off a few bumbags it’s you hunnie. Hopefully it won’t come to that but if it does then just think of the retrobags you can indulge in, any excuse to go shopping beautiful girl. Lots of love xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ❤️❤️❤️Loving your blog Trac only just heard about it so will be keeping an eye on it for updates!! Your strength is amazing as always! Love you lots, will see you soon ❤️❤️❤️❤️😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing your journey with us you wee superstar! If you want a coffee and a blether while Burkey is away, give me a shout, I’m here ☕️ 🍩 xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment