Where do I start…

Well my unexpected journey started in January 2015 when I was diagnosed with cervical cancer.

I had been to the doctors several times with my symptoms but because my smears were clear and my young age I got fobbed off repeatedly and sent on my way. If it wasn’t for me contacting them and insisting further investigation god knows where I would have been left. So if anyone reading this is in a similar situation please do not stop contacting your GP until you’re happy with answers you’re getting.

Anyway, the night we got told I had cancer kind of passed in a blur. I was prepared for it so no tears or upset from me but seeing my partner Greg break his heart on the doctors floor, then having to go face my mum and best friend who didn’t even know I was having issues, that was the real tough thing. Everyone focuses on the person who has the disease but hardest of all, for me anyway, is watching your loved ones struggle to cope with what you’re going through.

Since my initial diagnoses I’ve had a lot of treatment. Not sure how much detail to go into here? I’ll just bullet point and I guess if anyone wants more info just ask and I can do another post on it ☺️

– fertility treatment to harvest embryos, we have 3 little frozen babies ready just in case lol

– chemoradiation

– radical hysterectomy and bladder removal. I have a stoma now but I’m not sure how many of you would be aware of that

– two more rounds of radiotherapy

– two nephrostomy bags just done within the last week. These are drainage bags right from my kidneys as the cancer has now spread into my pelvic wall.

Due to the reoccurrence of the cancer in my lymph nodes and pelvis I’ll never be cured using conventional methods. We are always researching alternatives of course and I am just about to get accepted to a clinical trial that I’m over the moon about.

The last few years have passed in a total blur and surprisingly I’ve found it very easy to be positive and continue with my life in a normal way! In fact I’ve probably been in denial the whole time about the realities and consequences of the disease but it has made my life easier to deal with so I’m gonna continue with my head up my arse if you don’t mind lol. I one million percent credit my positivity to the unwavering love, support and strength of my husband, huge family and lots and lots of amazing friends. I really could not get through one day without them I’d be a crying heap of a woman, I’m so fortunate to be surrounded by so many wonderful people 💛

Well I think that’s enough for one post lol? I’d love to hear what you think and where I can improve or if you’re wanting more stories about any of the above please let me know. Love you all xxx

28 thoughts on “Where do I start…

  1. What can I say . I have one amazing beautiful daughter whom I love with all of my heart . Well done beautiful baby ❤️❤️❤️💕💕xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well done Tracey, you have shown so much courage and dignity throughout your journey, your a beautiful person inside and out, keep fighting xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing Tracey! Cried deom start to finish. Well done fordoing this, Your an inspiration. Keep it up loved readif it and look fkrward to more. Sending love 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re a trooper. Keep up with the blog hun and don’t worry if others think it’s ok or not – these are your words and thoughts, so nobody else could write them better. Much love ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a woman Tracey ❤️❤️ Brave strong beautiful and much more, well done on the blog. With you every step of the way babe xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are so brave Tracey ❤️❤️❤️ No matter what you are going through you always have a smile on your face! Looking forward to reading more! Lots of love 😘 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wot a diamond you truly are. Your one in a million matey. Love you to the moon and back and very proud of yah
    All my love n cuddles juneee xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aww Tracey such a great thing to do…quite emosh read g that! Your such a strong woman….keep plodding along with your head up your arse…best way ❤❤❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You are such an amazing, strong person Tracey!, everything you have been through and going through now! One of the strongest woman i have ever and prob will ever know. ❤.. lots of love to u. xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I had no idea the extent of your treatment and that everything was ongoing. I’ve ALWAYS admired you because you are down to earth (despite being so bloody beautiful you could be forgiven for not being! 😂) and immediately struck me as an honest, open , direct kind of person,with the biggest smile. Reading this has been so insightful and completely inspiring. Congratulations on getting into the trial! That’s exactly where you want to be! you are amazing. Keep doing what your doing because look how far you have come! 👏❤️ Sending you the best of wishes and all the love and admiration going forward! Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Stunned at what you’ve been and are still going through as could never tell from the photos I see on Greg’s insta.

    I’ve never met you Tracey, ( I know Greg from primary) but I’m in awe! You’re an inspiration in how you deal with this. All the very best in the trial, I’m rooting for ya! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment